Sharing my personal experiences as a Reiki Master to support others

…I treat others

Tonight I had the opportunity to give someone a Reiki treatment.  This individual was suffering from cold symptoms focused primarily at the head region.  More specifically, scratchy throat, runny nose, and congested nasal passages.

So with this individual, I began placing both hands above the face.  The nose separated my left and right hands and my palms were above the eyes and brow line, while the fingers were over the cheek bones.

In my hands, I felt heat, and this heat slightly warmed the rest of my body.  I could feel my head and neck warm up, too.  Within my body, I focused on feeling what my gut, or solar plexus felt.  I know when I need to move to a different position through paying attention to how I feel in my solar plexus.  It may be different for others, but for me, sometimes when I move my hands to a different position, I feel something equivalent to nervous butterflies in my stomach.  For me, this is my sign that it is not time to move away from this position.  I remain at that location until I feel less of these butterflies.

Since I knew I was to focus on this individual’s head region, my next hand placement combined the Usui hand placements with my knowledge of the skull structure.  I placed my fingertips on the face above the sinus openings of the skull.  I do not apply any extra pressure with my fingertips to the individual’s face.

Other hand positions I used were; hands parallel to and above the brow line, on the left and right temporal lobe regions of the skull (above the ears), the left and right ears themselves, and below the mandible (your throat) on the left and right sides.

By focusing on these regions, I hope to have alleviated the symptomatic areas of the congested and runny nose, and scratchy throat.  This treatment was very short and only lasted about 15-20 minutes, but a short time is better than none.  I will hear in a few days how this treatment worked.

~Christine

Leave a comment