Sharing my personal experiences as a Reiki Master to support others

Photo from nasa.gov

I came across the concept of “Witnessing” when I completed the Summer 2011 Meditation Challenge through the Chopra Center.  I found this activity beneficial for me.  It helped me decompress and slowed my mind before I went to sleep at night.

The concept:  Imagine that you are another life being from different planet.  You don’t know what a human routine looks like, what actions are acceptable, what is not acceptable.  You cannot hear what others say, nor can you feel emotions or be empathetic.  You can just watch the actions of others.  If you were this other life being and were watching yourself in your daily activities, what would you see?

The activity:  Take 5 – 10 minutes in your day- but I prefer right before I go to sleep.  Pretend you are watching a movie of your day with the mute volume on.  Begin seeing yourself awake, go through your day until you see yourself in the middle of this “witness” activity.  Lastly, be sure you watch your day in fast forward.  (Fast forward will give you a quick shot of your day, so you don’t spend time re-living the emotions connected to the actions)…Remember, you don’t feel emotions as another life being, you can just watch.

The result:  Your mind will begin compartmentalizing and storing this information into your mind.  You will be able to accept and let go of the encounters that you had during your day.  Lastly, (my favorite) you can evaluate your day to see if you spent your time outside of work doing the most important priorities in your life.

For example, after “witnessing” I ask myself, “Did I watch myself spend my non-work time balanced between my loved ones, myself, and a few chores?  Or did I spend too much time on one and not enough time on another?  Knowing the answer to this, I become aware of whether I like how I’m spending my time and change my life if I don’t like what I see.  Try it.  Although your day may be filled with monotonous routine, it will help you realize that your day is filled with productivity and should be filled with things you cherish most.

~Christine

Comments on: "…I Am a “Witness” to My Life" (2)

  1. Witnessing is the most simple — the most easily done meditation. The moment you witness something you become separate from it, you are the witness, the thing becomes an object — the witnessed.
    If you are walking on the road, and you are also witnessing that you are walking — not going along just like a robot, mechanical, everyday habit, the road is known, the legs know it, you can even walk with closed eyes. Continue reading at http://www.atmabodh.net/witnessing

Leave a Reply

