Sharing my personal experiences as a Reiki Master to support others

planning Reiki in labor

I am fortunate to know and practice Reiki.  I have witnessed it decrease individuals’  pain from broken bones, aid others’ with letting go during the loss of loved ones, and quickly recover a cancer patient after surgery.  Of all these experiences, I have only read and not given treatments during labor.  I often wonder how Reiki effects the pain that accompanies labor.  And now that I am within days, even hours, of my own labor, I am excited to find out.

There are a few activities I have done to promote a positive pregnancy experience; Reiki during my “morning (but actually afternoon through evening) sickness”, regular Reiki treatments for myself and baby, cranial-sacral adjustments, and daily conversations with baby, to name a few.  Now, I am planning what I can do to promote a positive labor experience.

I’ve already experienced some painful contractions; and when I place my hands on the area to give Reiki, the pain instantly softens and even diminishes.  What is more, I can still feel my muscles going through the contraction without that pain.  I plan to give Reiki to myself during each contraction.

Another plan is to send Reiki to where I will give birth, Bellingham Baby Center.  As a Reiki Master (actually as a Level II Reiki practitioner), I am able to send Reiki to past or future events.  When I send Reiki to this future event, I set an intention to have Reiki waiting for me when I arrive at the center.  I also visualize a dome-shaped “field” that protects and fills the area with energy that calms and relaxes me and baby; and also moves my labor forward naturally and efficiently.

There are so many testimonials that labor can be close-to, or even painless.  A woman’s body is built for it, we just have to listen, respect it, and appreciate it.  If you begin to listen, no one will know more about what your body needs than you do.  I have no doubt in my mind that Reiki will be there to support all those involved in the labor of baby.

Here’s to a wonderful experience!

~ Christine

Comments on: "planning Reiki in labor" (2)

  1. I’m so very excited for you. I wish Reiki had been in my life when I was pregnant with my son. Maybe he wouldn’t have been born so prematurely (7 wks). My wish for you is as magical experience as you can possibly create.

Leave a Reply

